Home Keeps MovingHi, my name is Heidi Sand-Hart and I don’t know where to call “home”!

I grew up in India, Norway and the UK and am a “Third Culture Kid” – “someone who has spent much of their childhood years outside of the parents’ culture, who absorbs elements from lots of different countries and has a sense of belonging to those who have had similar experiences.” (Ruth E. Van Reken).

My first book, Home Keeps Moving, was published this summer and I want to tell you a little about it.

Home Keeps Moving tells the story of growing up in many worlds due to moving frequently throughout my childhood. It gives insight into the many struggles and challenges that “Third Culture Kids” face with constantly leaving friends, homes and their familiar surroundings – of those trying to grasp an understanding of who they are and how they fit into their current society.

The question of where “home” was didn’t even emerge until I was much older, since as a child, you learn to adapt to whatever is thrown at you. It becomes your concept of “normal”.

In my early twenties, I started to search for personal literature on the topic of crosscultural upbringings and TCKs but realised there were hardly any books out there. So I decided to do it myself! I started writing Home Keeps Moving but the task was too overwhelming for me at the time.

As I’ve gotten older, I have recognised how exciting, colourful and unique my own childhood was and I wanted to share that with others. In this global and transient age, I thought it was more important to have literature out there for people to grasp and empathise with TCKs, since cross-cultural living is becoming more common day by day.

As a result of my own transient upbringing, travel has forced its way into my bloodstream and I’ve continued to incorporate this transient lifestyle into my adulthood. So far, I have lived as an expat in America, Canada, Thailand, India and New Zealand, being anything from a secretary to an orphanage volunteer. I have been to more than 42 countries (and counting) and never stayed anywhere for more than four years.